Skip to content

The Huntress vs. The Headline: “You Probably Think This Song Is About You, Don’t You”

June 24, 2011

Well I did it. Made 2,000 readers that is, so I feel a whole lot better about the situation. Not that it really matters or anything, but now I get to pretend that some people might actually like reading my drivel. I know this is probably not the case, but as I am on strict rest today and tomorrow (and all my friends are inconsiderate and rude enough to go to work on a Friday so I have no-one to do lunch with) I am going to tell myself this. So cheers, guys, thanks for your support. Especially to those of you I know who read this monstrosity, you’re all such stars for putting up with me.

I’m going to vary today’s format slightly in celebration and instead of putting out the top three most terrible headlines of the day I am going to pick what my favourite three featured headlines have been so far. The bronze medal goes to “It’s OK To Be Foul Mouthed As Long As You Work For The ABC And Attack Only The Liberals”, which appeared on The Australian’s website. This gets a prize because I really empathise with the headline and often find when discussing the Liberal party (and Colin Barnett in particular) I become very foul mouthed. And I don’t even work for the ABC. The silver medal goes to “The Burger Musician And The Drive Through Single”, featured on ABC’s ‘The Drum’. This excellent headline was written by George Galatis and discusses the lack of substance and talent within modern mainstream music. Mr. Galatis describes it as “music is food for the soul and the new wave of music contains no vitamin C”. Oh, how I enjoyed this headline. The well deserving gold medal winner still remains my favourite headline since the day I featured it very early on in the infant stages of my blog. Courtesy of ABC news, “Capitalism May Have Ended Life On Mars: Chavez” has everything I want in a great headline. The sublime ridiculousness married with what should be a very serious political ideology just makes it an excellent headline. So here’s to great headlines!

Today’s headline is really cool too. I read the article and THEN realised it was written by Lauren Rosewarne, who I have utilised headlines from on many an occasion. I find her witty, brilliant and relevant – in short I want to be this woman. But alas, I am merely The Huntress; or someone who thinks they are anyway. There are so many ideas going on in this piece that I want to write about all of them, but to do so would result in an essay that no one will want to read. Considering my lengthy intro today I might just touch on various points in dot form.

  • “Sometimes we just get sucked into a story”. I get sucked into stories all the time. I love listening to the stories of other people, where they have come from, where they have been, where they want to go. One of the wonderful priviliges of being a nurse is people tell you ‘stuff’. Deep, dark, intriguing stories they will share with no-one else as they know you will never pass their story on, or see you again.
  • “As a writer who pays their rent as an academic, I live the reality that dollars don’t always roll in doing only what we love”. There are so many things I wish I could be. When I was 15 I told my careers counsellor that I wanted to be a rock ‘n’ roll star. They didn’t take me seriously (fair enough) and I’m fairly certain ‘will fail at life’ was stamped upon my file. I accepted some years ago that no matter how desperately I want to be talented and creative I’m just not – and weirdly found that not only am I good at being a nurse, I love it. I’ll never be wealthy for it, but it keeps me in shiny shoes, which I guess is the objective.

I was actually having different thoughts for that part, but I suppose there’s only so much of my soul I’m willing to bare in a day.

  • “Instead my sadness stemmed from the thoroughly unpalpable notion that anyone would actually ring Kilbey – Kilbey, one of Australia’s finest songwriters and flagrantly ask him to pen them a ditty”. I find this sad too. When I was 16 and living in the UK there was a boy I befriended who played guitar. And he used to write songs, play them and sing for me. I loved every moment of it – it was one of the most wonderful things anyone has ever done for me.  To me the magic would be lost if I knew they’d paid someone to write that song for me. Where’s the heart in that?
  • “And yet, while I’d be the first to answer the “how do you write?” question with a “sit down and bloody do it” answer, I’m still starry-eyed enough to think that something vaguely inspired is involved. Particularly in song writing”. What is it about song writers? I have always been one of those crazy people who fall in love with lyrics, there is something so magical about them. Sometimes it’s just a single line that captivates me and I can’t let it go. I have always wanted to be able to write lyrically but, being the machine I am, comes to everything I write down being cold and hard, completely lacking the warmth and life required of such writing. One lyric currently captivating me is the simple “But baby, death’s our only friend”. It sends shivers up my spine.

So here I am writing about me again instead of the article. Sorry, regular format back as of next entry. I can’t believe I’ve plugged out 1000 words in under half an hour, quite the effort. If you’re still with me, thank you for your time and effort in struggling through.

Never, ever stop.


From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Big thanks for your lovely comments about my article. How flattering! – and how very exciting that anyone even reads what I write! 😉

    Thanks again, that’s incredibly sweet of you.

    Very best wishes,

    – Lauren.

Leave a Reply

