Skip to content

The Huntress vs. The Headline: “God, Hitler Posters Open Can Of Worms”

June 20, 2011

Soooo, after a weekend of inappropriate behaviour and loss of dignity, plus a bottle of wine, I’m feeling pretty mellow. Unlike the headlines of the day which are living up to their usual standard. AdelaideNow are keeping it ‘classy with “Oops, J-Lo’s TV Boob”. The Courier Mail emit ‘sophistication’ with “I’m No Clothes Horse, Says Kate” and News.com.au are upping the ante with “Too Hot To Handle: Swimmers Burn Woman”.

I am so glad I have had a bottle of wine on an empty stomach. It makes it so much better.

I really hope I can still write something somewhat meaningful whilst in such an, ahem, merry state. Today’s headline really does it for me as it’s intended to open up controversy, which, as you know, I love. A new TV show, “Can Of Worms”, produced by Andrew Denton’s production company has been created to challenge political correctness and debate contentious issues of the day. What’s not to love?

Apparently the APN, a ‘leading’ provider of outdoor advertisement in Australia, has censored advertising for “Can Of Worms”. Questions posed such as ‘Is it wrong to dress up as Hitler for a dress up party?” and ‘Is it wrong to tell your kids there is no God’ have been deemed as inappropriate for advertising. The only question that was deemed appropriate was “Is it ok for parents to spy on their kids online?” Yep, the tyres are screeching to a halt in my brain right now.

I find it ironic that the one question I find most offensive is the one that is deemed ok to be advertised. Personally, I am a stickler for privacy and confidentiality and under no circumstance EVER do I find it appropriate to spy on anyone online. I have a special place of loathing for those who secretly check anothers internet history or phone messages without knowledge or consent of the user. But, allegedly, it’s more acceptable than telling your children there is no God. Weird.

I find it interesting that posing what seems to be quite reasonable questions should be so controversial. Just to hijack the train of thought for a moment, for those who didn’t already know I am a staunch atheist. I went to a private, Catholic university and was required to take Catholic theology as a core unit. Amazingly, I achieved a high distinction on every paper I submitted speaking against the Catholic church (and organised religion in general) as my arguments were so well backed up. I even made some of the nuns cry with my harrowing tales of reasoning as to why the church was not valid in today’s society and it wasn’t because I didn’t share their belief – they actually empathised with my cause. The Huntress – 1 Catholic Church – 0. Score!

So basically what I mean to say is I tell my son that there is no God and am very comfortable doing so. If he wishes to challenge my perspective as he grows older he is very welcome to do so. I might even learn something new.

I guess what I find so offensive about this whole charade is that “Can Of Worms” is designed to make people think for themselves and question their own values. Ah, no critical thinking for the masses, we can’t have that now can we?!? I find it alarming that so many people have no ability to think for themselves and form their own opinions based on understanding and interpretation of facts and their own values. People are swayed by pervasive journalists and the political leanings of the media they happen to work for. Why is it so bad to pose a question that challenges peoples minds and allows them to explore an alternative perspective?

Okay, I’m drunkenly raving now, which is just not cool, so I guess I’ll leave it at that. I’m lacking inspiration for a cool picture, so I’ll just post a pic of my lovely doggies.

Awww, aren’t they gorgeous?

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

